quitters never win

If you have been following my writing, you might have noticed that I’ve taken a bit of a hiatus from music journo/blogging. It’s really nothing to do with the wonderful sites/publications I was writing for, or the great quality of artists I’ve gotten to review in Vancouver, but more to do with the fact that I’ve come to view music criticism (in the professional voice) as a bit of a sham.

No one really cares what I (or anyone else, for that matter) thinks about a show.¬† As Dan Bern said, “The age of specialization is over”. Meaning, we all have our own opinions and ability to assess talent and quality, and what’s more-through the democratization of media (like, the interwebs and da blawgs and da twitters and such) we all have a medium through which to amplify and broadcast those opinions. So why would anyone care about what I think? You have the power and creativity to put down your thoughts in a cohesive and engaging manner, all the more power to you! Go for it! (confession: I pretty much only read music reviews for the pictures anyway…)

Not to knock anyone who is currently writing professional music critique/reviews, but I’m just SO OVER IT.

I’m returning to my roots, which is self-indulgent, navel-gazing, confession-based blogging. If you’re curious as to what I’m up to now, or would like to read about my social experiment (complete with highly personal, exploratory musings) they can be found at www.oneyearoffun.com .

peace out wiggas!

xo

b.

Leave a Reply

